Reveiws

Denisse H. / New Jersey USA
07/17/2017
Air BnB
From the moment my family walked into Dona Rosa, we knew we were in for a rare treat. In my 30 years of staying in b and b's all over the USA, I never experienced or stayed in a better place. But this is Costa Rica and Pura Vita as it is meant to be. Carlos and Werner made my three teenaged girls want to stay there and not finish the rest of our trip to La Fortuna. That is not an easy feat if you know what teen girls are like. The house itself is impeccably decorated and clean with premier panoramic views of Lake Arenal, within walking distance. It has a lovely pool and deck area, with lush gardens, chickens, perfect spots for bird watching, and, if that weren't enough, two of the nicest men I have ever had the pleasure of meeting and spending time with. Carlos' breakfast feast was better than any fine dining breakfast I have had and this is not to be missed. It really felt like we were guests in our friends' home. My family will never forget the experience and I pray we will be able to visit again.

Katharine H. / Louisiana USA
07/18/2017
Facebook
Would give 6 stars if possible, by far the nicest Air B&B we've ever stayed at. Home was beautiful and Carlos & Werner were wonderful hosts. They managed to put smiles on the entire family's faces (including three teens). We were cooked a delicious breakfast (our favorite meal in Costa Rica) and enjoyed relaxing by the pool. Truly fantastic experience!

AndreaSanchezCR, Cartago Costa Rica
03/12/2017
Trip Advisor
Nuevo Arenal gem!

Carlos & Werner have been our best hosts ever! We found this B&B after a cancelation from another place and we couldn't be happier. This is a two story brand new house decorated with exquisite delicacy. It’s about 5 minute walk from Nuevo Arenal downtown and the same distance from the lake. The rooms will overcome your expectations. The view to the lake and the volcano is really nice. Breakfast was excellent. Carlos is a great baker, make sure not to miss his fresh baked bread. They also have a cozy terrace with a small pool, just perfect to enjoy a hot day. The price-quality relation is great and these two gentlemen will make sure to make you feel at home.

ArezoPopal - Kassel, Germany
03/18/2017
Trip Advisor
high quality and excellent hosts

Now we've been traveling for more than 3 months south- and central america and this Bed&Breakfast was the best stay we had so far. Werner and Carlos are lovely and they make sure that you have a great stay. The breakfast is better than in any Restaurants > of high quality :-) The rooms are clean, tidy and equipped with everything you need. The pool is great! If you search a calm location with a wonderful lake-view, this is defnitely the perfect stay. We can't recommend this place more! FIVE STARS

Sadyk A
03/18/2017
Trip Advisor
Super geschmackvolles Zimmer und Traumgastgeber

Wir wollten eigentlich nur 4 Tage bleiben sind aver 6 geblieben weil es uns so gut gefallen hat! Die Zimmer sind sehr groß und haben ein eigenes Bad mit grosser Dusche! Es ist alles sehr sauber und man hat alles was benötigt wird. Das WLAN ist perfekt und funktioniert sogar auf der Riesen Terrasse. Das 5 Sterne Frühstück von Carlos ist mit liebe gemacht! Werner und Carlos haben uns den Aufenthalt so abgeben wie nur möglich gemacht. Weil sie sich gut auskennen in der Region haben sie uns zwei Geheimtipps verraten:-) Thanks for everything Werner and Carlos!

ChicoMike62, Chico, CA
04/09/2017
Trip Advisor
The home is amazing and the hosts are wonderful

Simply the most delightful B&B I have stayed at in over 10 years of traveling within and around Costa Rica! Carlos and Werner have created an oasis of tranquility within the small town of Nuevo Arenal. Upon arriving you are warmly greeted with a cool glass of water and help with your things. Entering the house you can't help but immediately notice the richness of decor and elegant style of their newly rebuilt home. However it is when you are shown to your room that it hits you how special their place is. Your bedroom and bath are modern, spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated. The attention to detail is off the charts, easily on par with a luxury hotel. My upper level room had a beautiful view of Lake Arenal and a spacious deck on which to take it all in. Outside is a large patio/deck with comfortable chairs, tables and even a splash pool. A perfect place to get some sun, read or just enjoy conversation. Carlos and Werner are gracious hosts who genuinely seem to take an interest in your travels. Easy and enjoyable to talk to they are a wealth of valuable information about Costa Rica. Carlos is an excellent cook and the breakfasts he prepares are delicious. My stay in their home felt as comfortable as time in the home of dear friends. You will not be disappointed if you choose to stay at Casa Donna Rosa. I am already planning my return visit.

Ron K
04/11/2017
Trip Advisor
Simply Amazing

Everything about this place was absolutely perfect! Carlos and Werner were probably the best host and people we have gotten to know down here in Costa Rica, they were extremely helpful as well as incredibly friendly. The house interior is absolutely gorgeous and the back patio is the perfect place to relax outside and birdwatch or even drink a glass of wine or two. The breakfasts that Carlos and Werner made were absolutely phenomenal with coffee that was to die for. We will forever tell people about this gem of a b&b and hope to return soon! Thank you for everything!!!

L H. Los Angeles, CA
04/13/2017
Trip Advisor
Our piece of heaven in Nuevo, Arenal

We were so lucky to find Casa Donna Rosa B&B! The only thing we did wrong was to not stay there longer! We had 2 glorious nights there. Werner and Carlos, the owners, were amazing hosts from the minute we set foot inside their door of their beautifully decorated home! They helped us with information on activities, providing us with above and beyond customer service and really-- just treated us like we were family. They homemade their breakfasts- which were to die for! They doted on us and make us feel so special. It was the highlight of our week in Costa Rica. The views from the rooms is unparalleled. We just can't say enough!

Ryan Y. Phoenix, AZ
04/13/2017
Trip Advisor
Far more wonderful than ever expected!

Our stay at Casa Donna Rosa was by far the highlight of our trip. We planned our week in Costa Rica to include stays at 4 different locations in order to experience a wider variety than if we'd stayed in one area. It's good that Casa Donna Rosa was our third stop because Carlos and Werner provided a luxurious retreat that simply put to shame every other place we stayed at. The recently completed house is beautiful, with the 2 upstairs rental rooms sharing a balcony with gorgeous views of Arenal Lake. The furniture, decor, and bathrooms are of a quality level suitable for a 5-star hotel, and the simple but delicious breakfasts were by far the best we had on our entire trip. We spent far more time sitting on the balcony than we should have, simply because it was so relaxing and comfortable. Our next trip to Costa Rica will be planned around staying here again.

Anders N, Bivy Denmark
04/20/2017
Trip Advisor
Perfect place and hosts

We randomly stumbled upon Casa Donna Rosa on a one-day visit to Nuevo Arenal, but liked the town a lot and wanted to stay more. Se we knocked the door and enquired about availability. From when the doors were opened first time and to we left, four days later, we were treated beyond any expectations. Wonderful people helping us out with everything, MUCH more than could be expected of any hosts. It's very clear that Carlos and Werner love what they're doing! On top of that, they also served the most amazing breakfasts, varied and always very, very good. And they had (by far) the best quality of rooms and views we have had on our one-month (so far) trip around Costa Rica. It's very clean, has a great shower, walk-in closet and a great bed. At the top floor (where we stayed) we had access to a great, big balcony where we spent a lot of time, enjoying the sounds of nature, the views of the lake and volcano as well as looking at nearby birds. We can highly recommend Casa Donna Rosa, and encourage anyone visiting Nuevo Arenal to stay here! Thanks for a great stay!

MarianaPS
04/20/2017
Trip Advisor
Este lugar es increíble!

La casa de Warner&Carlos es un lugar que uno no espera encontrarse. Llegar ahí después de un largo viaje y que te reciban con mil detalles es increíble, la amabilidad de ambos por hacer que te sientas en casa es delicioso. El detalle de los cuartos muy bien logrados, todo muy limpio, cómodo, de esos lugares donde te provoca dormir muchas horas. Después de haber recorrido por Costa Rica muchos sitios muy lindos, para nosotros este ha sido el mejor, y no solo por lo perfecta que es la casa, sino por la atención de ambos. La hora del desayuno es increíble, no sabes que delicia te preparará ese día, podrían ser panes hechos por ellos mismos o algún pastel que solo ves en vitrina de restaurante. Para mi madre, mi novio y para mi es un lugar de 5 estrellas! Gracias por hacernos sentir en casa!

ToddH
05/24/2017
Trip Advisor
Gracious Hospitality With A Delicious Breakfast To Boot!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Casa Donna Rosa in Lake Arenal. Carlos & Werner are excellent hosts. The house is gorgeous, and it has some very stunning views of the the lake. The house is very tastefully decorated, and the kitchen is very modern and updated. Each room has its own gorgeous bathroom, and the beds are extremely comfortable. The best part of our stay was the delicious gourmet breakfast that was cooked for us. Delicious Eggs Benedict with roasted potatoes and sausages, mixed fresh fruit, and fresh squeezed orange juice and coffee. Sitting outside on their deck enjoying the meal was definitely the highlight. The house is very close (within walking distance for sure) to downtown Lake Arenal where you will find many shops and restaurants. We will definitely stay at Casa Donna Rosa the next time we visit Costa Rica! Thanks Carlos & Werner for your gracious hospitality!

Alonst
05/25/2017
Trip Advisor
Great view, amazing hospitality

From your room you have amazing view The hosts are so nice and helpful The breakfast they prepare and serve each morning is delicious and beautiful at the same time The room is very clean and nice In general you get a 5 stars treatment! So I give them 5 starts :)

Ron
04/11/2017
Facebook
Excellent place if your going to Costa Rica! you need to book here the best breakfast awesome service very friendly and oh yeah the view from our room was amazing, absolutely beautiful we loved it wish we could stay longer!!

Danica
04/11/2017
Facebook
Everything about this place was absolutely perfect! Carlos and Werner were probably the best host and people we have gotten to know down here in Costa Rica, they were extremely helpful as well as incredibly friendly. The house interior is absolutely gorgeous and the back patio is the perfect place to relax outside and birdwatch or even drink a glass of wine or two. I will forever tell people about this gem of a b&b and hope to return soon! Thank you for everything!!!

Andrea
03/12/2017
Facebook
Carlos & Werner have been our best hosts ever! We found this B&B after a cancelation from another place and we couldn't be happier. This is a two story brand new house decorated with exquisite delicacy. It’s about 5 minute walk from Nuevo Arenal downtown and the same distance from the lake. The rooms will overcome your expectations. The view to the lake and the volcano is really nice. Breakfast was excellent. Carlos is a great baker, make sure not to miss his fresh baked bread. They also have a cozy terrace with a small pool, just perfect to enjoy a hot day. The price-quality relation is great and these two gentlemen will make sure to make you feel at home.

Rebeca
04/12/2017
Air BnB
We had an amazing time at Carlos & Werner's house, it is a beautiful place to stay. The both of them are so kind, splendid, warm and caring... they know the area and recommended us where to have a great dinner, Moya's pizza is one of the best we have tryed. We stayed at Banana suite, a lovely room as you see it in pictures and had it all you read on the description. Simply a comfortable place. Hopefully we will come back soon!

Marcos
04/12/2017
Air BnB
They're the best hosts we've had! Their home is cosy, elegant and neat. They'll make you feel at home. Carlos is an awesome baker and Werner will make sure to assist you in anything he can. The views of the lake and volcano from their balcony are great. The relation between price and quality is excelent. Don't miss the chance to come to Nuevo Arenal and stay in this outstanding B&B

Aura
04/20/2017
Air BnB
Mi mejor experiencia en AirBnb! La casa es hermosa, la habitación excelente y llena de detalles. La vista desde la habitación también espectacular y el desayuno uff!! delicioso. Pero sin duda lo mejor de todo fue la atención de Werner, desde que nos guió para llegar, durante nuestra estadía y hasta que nos fuimos y nos dio muchas recomendaciones y sugerencias para lo que quedaba del viaje. Se nota que la casa fue hecha y se mantiene con mucho amor :) Sin duda, voy a recomendar este sitio a todo aquel que vaya a Costa Rica.

Michael
04/06/2017
Air BnB
Simply the most delightful B&B I have stayed at in over 10 years of traveling within and around Costa Rica! Carlos and Werner have created an oasis of tranquility within the small town of Nuevo Arenal. Upon arriving you are warmly greeted with a cool glass of water and help with your things. Entering the house you can't help but immediately notice the richness of decor and elegant style of their newly rebuilt home. However it is when you are shown to your room that it hits you how special their place is. Your bedroom and bath are modern, spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated. The attention to detail is off the charts, easily on par with a luxury hotel. My upper level room had a beautiful view of Lake Arenal and a spacious deck on which to take it all in. Outside is a large patio/deck with comfortable chairs, tables and even a splash pool. A perfect place to get some sun, read or just enjoy conversation. Carlos and Werner are warm and gracious hosts who genuinely seem to take an interest in your travels. Easy and enjoyable to talk to they are a wealth of valuable information about Costa Rica. Carlos is an excellent cook and the breakfasts he prepares are delicious. My short stay in their home felt as comfortable as time in the home of dear friends. You will not be disappointed if you choose to stay at Casa Donna Rosa. I am already planning my return visit.

Enida
04/12/2017
Air BnB
Carlos and Werner are the best hosts there is. Their place is absolutely beautiful and they are so nice! We were leaving really early to go to Rio Celeste and they both offered to pack us breakfast which was absolutely delicious. The room is so nicely decorated, strong wifi and great views. Definitely recommend staying here if in the area.

James
05/01/2017
Air BnB
Where do I start...The experience was far and beyond any of my expectations. My wife and I were on our honeymoon and these two gentlemen made our experience the toast of Arenal. From the exceptional customer service before we arrived to the wonderful conversation once we walked through the door, our experience was one for the ages. We were truly amazed by the wonderful room and spacious bathroom, but this was only to be outdone by the fantastic breakfast. Carlos is a world class chef and you are in for a treat. We had such an amazing experience that I will send anyone that goes to Costa Rica to stay at this true BnB.

Alon
05/02/2017
Air BnB
Amazing!!!

To be more specific?: View - have a look from your room and you would like to stay there for ever. This scenic is breathtaking! Breakfast - Each morning a delicious and well designed breakfast is waiting for you. Facilities - Everything you need is waiting for you. All is clean and tidy. Carlos & Werner - It is all about the hosts! They will help you to make the perfect vacation. They will give you the best tips and will assist in everything that is needed.

Yes, I definitely recommend this charming place!

Rocio
05/29/2017
Air BnB
What was there not to love! The view is amazing, the room was great and clean, the breakfast was to die for and most importantly Carlos and Werner are amazing hosts. So attentive and very helpful!! We wished we could have stayed longer. But we will definitely be back that's for sure!

Morgan
05/29/2017
Air BnB
Carlos and Werner are incredible hosts that really know how to make staying in their lovely home special and memorable. My boyfriend and I arrived late at night and they made sure that we were successfully able to maneuver through the streets to find their home. When we arrived, they had a pitcher of cold water in our room and an assortment of toiletries in the bathroom. It was a small gesture that went a long way. The room was clean and comfortable, and we were greeted in the kitchen in the morning with fresh homemade bread, a delicious egg dish in a fresh pastry, fresh fruit, and classic Costa Rican coffee. I would highly recommend others to stay here. My only regret is not being able to stay for longer!

Rocio
05/29/2017
Air BnB
What was there not to love! The view is amazing, the room was great and clean, the breakfast was to die for and most importantly Carlos and Werner are amazing hosts. So attentive and very helpful!! We wished we could have stayed longer. But we will definitely be back that's for sure!

Lily S.
06/06/2017
Facebook
“Absolutely outstanding place to stay & have a gourmet breakfast, & great conversation..”

We loved our visit at Casa Dona Marie. Carlos & Werner went out of their way to make our visit unforgettable. The gourmet breakfast's they prepare are incredible with attention to every detail. Carlos should be preparing food in a fine dining restaurant. The rooms are impeccable with thought given to every need of their guests. Just simply can't rave enough about our experience there. Thank you both for taking such good care of us. We will be back!!

Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend? Yes...

Ryan Yantzer
04/11/2017
Facebook
In the week that we were in Costa Rica we split our stays between 4 different locations. This was by far our favorite, eclipsing even the treehouses. The house looks typical on the outside but the interior is beautifully designed and decorated, far exceeding our expectations. We generally make it a point to get out and do things while on vacations rather than wasting time just sitting at a hotel, but the shared outdoor balcony was so comfortable and relaxing that we couldn't resist spending hours out there listening to the birds and animals and enjoying the gorgeous view of the lake. Carlos and Werner were exemplary hosts, going above and beyond to make sure that we had everything we needed, including great recommendations for local food. Speaking of food, the breakfasts were delicious and by far the best morning meals we had on our entire trip. If we are in Costa Rica again, there is no doubt that we will be planning our trip around another stay at Casa Donna Rosa.


© Hosted, Designed and Developed by Eidson Empire, LLC. EidsonEmpire.com